My feelings on BH Hohenheim

This is my response to an ask I got asking me to compare Bh Hohenheim with 03 Hohenheim. It’s a fairly brief reply.

BH Hohenheim really grates on me for some reason, I just can’t stand his character. It’s hard to explain why. Maybe its because I feel like I’m expected to sympathise with him but I just don’t really. Maybe because it’s how he basically solves the plot?  Seriously, he spent the last 10 years spreading souls around so that when Father pulled off his plan, Hohenheim could just undo it with a self-activating array. (So it would have gone off even if he died.) That means by the start of canon, Father’s plan is probably already doomed. I’ve talked about it before I think, but I’m not all that fond of Brotherhood’s ending and Hohenheim being the one who solves everything is part of it. 

Some people absolutely adore Hohenheim and find him very sympathetic and have explained why but I just can’t feel it. This is my opinion, if I was attempting to be more objective then I couldn’t call him bad. But I personally just don’t much like him. Perhaps its because I’m so fond of Ed and feel that his reasons for feeling angry or disinterested in a relationship with him are justified and I’m not so fond of how its painted as immature stubborness. (I can forgive a character for making mistakes though!) That’s also a biased perspective and I’m sure if I could look at it from Hohenheim’s point of view instead I’d be more reasonable. But, Ed’s my favourite and I like viewing FMA from his perspective and focusing on his character. I did really like Hohenheim’s backstory as a young slave though! That was really interesting and nice. 

Leave a comment