FMA 03 Official art

Hey, I’ve been collecting all the official art I could find online and saving it to my computer. I figured it’d be good I’d share some of it here. Enjoy!

(This is for 03 stuff – for Brotherhood official art check here.)

I’ve compiled a bunch of art together here. Enjoy. I don’t own any of it myself nor do I have a good list of sources. If you spot any errors or if you have any improvements, please feel free to tell me. I’m always looking for more to add to this!

Many pieces of official art are produced in sets, which will sometimes be obvious. I’ve grouped them together where I can. I don’t know everything that goes together though and so I just categorised them in other ways. Yes, some of these categories will be quite artificial. I’ve left my own comments throughout. Hopefully it is pleasing to browse and easy to find what you’re looking for.

The art is also varied in quality as for some of it I could only find them in low quality. Additionally, some of the art has words over it in cases where I couldn’t find a good clean version. Please click on the images to view them properly.

Some pieces of official art have been used in a variety of ways and may come in different backgrounds. I’ve tried not to have multiple versions of the same piece however.

(There is >600 images on this page so it may take time to load properly.)

Starting off with a set I really like. They seem to show extra little moments in the series that are quite cute. Ed wearing the military uniform is especially iconic.

Second group all identified by the names in the bottom right corner. Ed looks so strange in his image. Angsty Roy by the phone booth is my favourite.

This set is absolutely gorgeous with the floral backgrounds and the trendy clothing. It’s kind of hard to choose a favourite but I’ll go for Riza’s – those boots are awesome.

More flowers! Winry’s easily my favourite here, she looks great in pink. Why is Ed’s so terrible?

These are the original DVD art covers. You might also recognise these images from their use in the CoS opening. Gotta say, I love the Philosopher’s stone Al beside Scar.

These are all DVD covers again, from the release in 2006/7. This time covering ~13 episodes in each one. I managed to find four images all in a slightly different format from each other… -Technically the first one is the cover for a thing called Tales from the festival but its art also gets used as the first part of this DVD set.

I like all these and absolutely love the Elric family one. (And Ed’s a bit tall in the one with Roy and Riza).

These are box sets, obviously, as part of the 2016 collector’s edition where the series was rereleased for Blue-ray. I’m completely baffled as to why the first one goes up to 27. Episode 25 serves as an excellent cut-off point. Episode 26 is a breather that would also work and is actually half-way. But 27?

I’ve included another version of the Edward image further down as well, which includes more of his arm. This one is here for completeness.

Original soundtrack covers. Somehow I managed to find slightly different versions of each image rather than a matching set. The last one is the CoS soundtrack. Love Ed and Al back to back of course :).

Song files come with such interesting and detailed art. Last one is a group shot where they’re all in slightly different poses.

These are the covers of radio CDs, I believe. All the characters are drawn in a very fun, likeable style and the scenes depicted are pretty interesting!

My favourite has got to be Al and Wrath sharing a table beside Ed and Noah. Ed looks great in that waistcoat and Wrath is cute. Green hair works surprisingly well on him. (Also love Al’s big smile in the bottom one, he looks so happy with his flowers.

I think these are animangas, imagine a comic book made up of screencaps from the anime. Goes up to Episode 25 apparently. Either way absolutely love the one featuring Ed and Envy.

No idea whether any of these are actually related (maybe the Ed/Riza/Winry are related but not the others?) but I decided to put them together anyway. Just some striking pictures of our main characters on a variety of backgrounds. Artwork of Izumi is pretty scarce so enjoy her!

I think these are all from the same calender. All our characters posing moodily, what could be better? I adore the homunculi picture the most but I love all of them trying to be effortlessly cool.

This is certainly a pretty group! I class these as scenes that could be from the show, like the characters did a photo shoot of moments from these episodes or something. Like you can clearly recognise the first one as them leaving their home while the next is their time with Nina. I tried to put the events in chronological order – the last several are from CoS.

I just compiled these together myself of course, there could be more that you could add depending on how you group them. The next group also features scenes after all.

More lovely scenes. Some of these could maybe fit with the above group but I decided to distinguish them as they’re slightly more random rather than capturing a specific moment from an episode. Others are just cool imagery showing memories and such. All very pretty though!

Even more scenes – this time though they don’t have backgrounds so I thought they’d best be separate. Some lovely art regardless. My favourite is the angsty one of Ed clutching his pocketwatch beside Roy and Scar.

More beautiful scenes! This time they’re less canon and more the characters in a modern world… or something. Okay they’re mostly silly and weird. Enjoy Ed’s and the other characters many different costumes. I love how there’s two that are the same except the characters are dressed differently.

Still great though, I absolutely adore the one where they’re on a film set like they’ve just finished creating an episode or something. (New headcanon! The Ed depicted in Official art is an actor, okay? Who plays Edward. It’s like its own AU world. That’s why all the pictures feel like they’re a photoset for a production. Unlike Canon Ed, official art Ed is good friends with Roy and loves showing off his automail arm. His fashion sense is kind of odd though. Much more varied at the very least.)

More official art of various scenes, some are delightfully silly. The difference from the previous sets is that this time is that they’re portrait rather than landscape. My favourite is definitely young Ed Al doing alchemy.

More of these AU sort of images. Just as strange and iconic as ever. That football one is seriously ridiculous and I love it.

These are all images from collectable cards or something like that. There’s several series so there’s quite a lot!

Some of these are special cards, I think? I think there were multiple series. They’re not organised in any particular way. except the CoS images are in the latter half. Some of the other official artwork also originates from these cards I think. Either way, many of them are really cool. Some of the images I have saved are sadly pretty bad quality though.

Just some magazine covers. I suspect a 6th one exists but I’m uncertain. I’m doubtful that clean versions of these images exist (apart from the first one of course – I left it here for completeness as the image itself is poor quality) but they’re nice. I just love any image featuring Ed with his hands together.

Some little chibis that are actually clearly supposed to be a set for once rather than a grouping I made arbitrarily. I think they’re little charms? Roy is my favourite.

More chibis. All lying in the grass. I love how Ed’s gazing into the sky but I also love how awesome and evil Envy looks. (And I imagine he’s watching Ed). Hard to choose a favourite.

I can only assume these were created for some festival. Ed’s expression is awesome. Hmm… that must be CoS Ed given the harness visible under his unbuttoned shirt. But that can’t be CoS Roy or Winry. He has his left eye as he’s making so obvious. (That dress doesn’t suit Winry at all.)

Some CoS characters… what’s up with Ed’s vacant expression?

Even more chibis! Love the Lust, there’s not enough artwork of her. Ed clapping his hands is also adorable though.

Wow, I love this. What an excellent set! All the characters seem so grim and it has this military feel to it with the names written on the side like that. Quality of images is a little variable – sorry about that.

Err… really nice art between Roy with his hair slicked back, Ed clutching his left arm for some reason and Riza’s rather bereft expression. Actually all of their unhappy expressions are lovely.

This set was tricky to find! They’re all very pretty and colourful – I especially adore Roy holding a rose.

More CoS artwork. Winry’s CoS outfit is absolutely fabulous but my favourite has to be the Al, his hair looks lovely. (Oh look, it’s Ed clutching his arm yet again…)

Here’s another cute set. Some characters in a slightly odd style. From a calendar probably. Ed and Al smiling at each other is always lovely! Last one is a combination of others of course. You know, it surprises me how much Havoc art there is.

Another set I made. The third one is clearly from a calender while the others are not. But they all feature Homunculi posing in front of the gate so I couldn’t resist grouping them. Second time Envy’s been pulling Ed’s hair… Envy looks grand in all three but Lust in the last one is just spectacular.

Some Ed and Mustang pairs. Main characters get all the art. All the artwork is so different from each other that I couldn’t possibly choose a favourite.

The tv animation artbooks do contain a third one – it’s a bit lower down with the Ed and Al images.

Like the Ed and Roy one but this time it’s Ed and Al. No idea if the first two are actually supposed to be a pair at all. Mmm… the second one’s angst is delicious.

Even more of Ed and Roy together! (This time not in separate images.) They’re dressed up like it’s a date in one with Ed carrying that rose. And in another it’s literally a valentines? . (Stop feeding the shippers, official art makers!) Angst in the second one makes it my automatic favourite.

Huh, three different images with Roy putting a hand on Ed’s shoulder.

And now here’s Ed and Al together. This time with tons. There’s so much of them, even with a lot of it already in different sets. I’ll draw your attention to the DVD cover art for CoS on the second row alongside the cover art for the Premium OVA collection.

I absolutely adore Ed winking at Al while standing on his travelling case. Why he’s so pleased I’m not sure.

Lot of Riza here for some reason? I think these are more of the collectable cards, maybe. Either way it has the character’s name(s) somewhere on the image and they’re all about the same dimensions. I know all the names are in completely different fonts but whatever. Quality of image is extremely variable…

I just adore the Alfons Heidreich and Ed one. Ed’s expression is so perfectly grumpy. And Ed’s hair in a ponytail…

These three all have the words at the bottom in the same style so they must be a set, right? An actual Scar art, that’s rare. Ed and Mustang are more standard.

I adore these Chibis. I think they’ve been used in a few types of merchandise. Riza with her hair down buying groceries is the cutest thing ever. Though I’m also partial to Ed in that scarf.

Set of cute chibis. Now including the Winry and Lust ones! These are all really adorable.

Some remaining chibis. A bit of a random mix. The same chibis from the above set are being used in a couple of those group images. Ed with a cat on his head :D. Also CoS Winry is fantastic.

This seems like another set so they’re together. Don’t love any of it but Mustang is my favourite. Bottom ones are just groups shot combining some of the others.

It’s some main characters – but they’re sitting! I know, weird. Ed is so cute!

Some more Visual cards. I think the real things are shiny and glossy so they don’t scan extremely well. I quite like the Roy one I guess.

Including this image separately as it combines three cards to make a cool image. It’s pretty awesome anyway.

These four are clearly a set. Envy casually carrying a huge sword is epic by the way. So much of the official art features Ed and Al standing back to back….

Various other things that are clearly pairs. Some of these are magazine pages that I have saved as two separate images. The calendar one presumably has other images in its set but I’m not sure which ones (or if I even have the others) so I’m just going to leave the pair together here. Winry images are from the Motherland ED but they were on a card together so I included them.

Main series Al, main series Ed, CoS Al and Alfons Heidreich all in one image? Awesome. Oh and that Roy/Ed and Winry/Riza one? Wow.

Some art featuring mostly homunculi. Yeah, it’s all awesome! Envy is just generally great. Special love for dragon Envy.

Decided to separate these into their own section as the colour palette in all of them seems similar to me. Love it all.

Images featuring three people – not scenes because they’re generally posing like its a photograph. Here’s all the Hughes stuff apparently. Alphonse sure likes his cats.

Card Pack covers as you can see. Files 2,3 and 4 but File 1 just reusing another piece of official art, these are unique images. Either way they’re quite pretty. It’s funny that when beside Mustang and Al, Ed’s in attack mode but he’s completely casual in the one with Envy.

This is the part where all the art merges together in my mind. Anyway these are group shots of 4-8 people. Distinct from scenes as the characters generally appear to be looking at the screen, smiling at the camera. Love the image of Lust in that beautiful green dress. And everyone’s expressions on the last one are absolutely lovely.

So many characters! Big groups so like more than 8 people. Sometimes much more. There’s so much going on in these.

Back to basics! Ed on his own, usually showing off his automail because… fanservice?

Some of these are absolutely awesome and I have a weakness for Ed with his hair down. And in how many does he have his shirt off?

Nearly to the end now. Okay, these are other character pairs – so neither Roy/Ed nor Ed/Al. And who aren’t already in another set. Not too many of these.

Solo characters who aren’t named Edward. So basically Roy, Winry and Alphonse. And Armstrong. You know the magazine page with Alphonse with Brothers written on? I like it because around it, you’ve got little images of brothers in the series, (Ed and Al, Scar and his brother, the Tringhams, the ishvalans Rick and Leo, the slicer brothers and even Armstrong and his sister.) Okay Roy with the blue umbrella is funny – especially because one of the little hanging pieces is shaped like Ed.

These are really pieces of official art for the FMA games: Broken Angel, Curse of the Crimson Elixir and The Girl who succeeds god (Err that’s what its title in English would be if it had an English release.) Other art is related to them as well but these ones specifically include the games’ OCs. I know the red haired girl is Mary-sue Armony from the first PS2 game, Broken Angel. Silver haired girl is Sofia from the 3rd one only released in Japan, not sure about the others.

The fourth image is Broken Angel’s box cover art but there’s another version of it without Armony which I’ve placed in the Ed & Al set. Second image, first half of it is also in the portrait scenes set (sorry, I try not to have duplicates…).

Ed looks so adorable in that last one.

Some more merch. These seem like all screenshots from the series which I mostly try to avoid on here but whatever, it’s nice to have some different characters for a change. I think the number on the cards are actually the episode number they’re from. This won’t be all of the cards of course.

And finally, miscellaneous stuff that wasn’t fitting anywhere else. It’s pretty random. Bottom one is literally crossover art. Couple from the game Dream Carnival.

…No comment on the rest.

Now there are also character design reference sheets. I’ve decided not to include them here but here’s a good resource for them if you’re interested. https://characterdesignreferences.com/art-of-animation-4/art-of-fullmetal-alchemist-1 and a second page https://characterdesignreferences.com/art-of-animation-4/art-of-fullmetal-alchemist-2 (They also come with some Manga and Brotherhood official art for some reason, though these reference sheets are all from the first anime.)

Also more cards – there’s some bandai collectable battle cards. Many of which just use images from other bits of official art and screencaps. Here’s a complete collection here: Volume 1, Volume 2 and Volume 3.

Also check out my Brotherhood official art stuff here (it’s a little shorter though!)

This brings me to the end of this official art collection. Hope you enjoyed it! If you know of anything I’ve missed then please do tell me so I can add to this.

Cheers!

-Zetalial

5 thoughts on “FMA 03 Official art

  1. Hello, I’m a Chinese.

    This message is from the translation software.

    I appreciate your work for this.

    Because my room has always had a Roy poster since 2004.

    But lost in June 2020 because my room was redecorated after the flood.

    I spent some time looking for this poster online. So I can make some souvenirs.

    And finally I found this page. I’m excited to find it.

    Anyway, thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment